Two Cups of Tea (Part 1)

The strong autumn breeze interferes the warmth hidden under the big coats of pedestrians. The road was likely to be busy today as a big match between Manchester City and Chelsea should commence soon in Etihad Stadium. People wearing sky-blue shirts of Man City are frequently spotted everywhere even it was quite close to Old Trafford, the home of Manchester United, the rival of Man City. It is said that Mancunians (Manchester citizens) do not actually support the sky-blue team whose titles are significantly rising in the five years. People, especially tourists, come to Etihad stadium only for taking pictures or watching Man City lose. The bleachers are not frequently full though even for a Champions League match. However, this story isn’t going to talk about those football clubs and their history, but rather to a youth whose football career and first actual romance begin here.

A guy in black hooded coat is walking in vast steps along the pavement of Wilmslow Road with his hands inside his pockets. His facial feature doesn’t indicate that he looks like a British bloke. The slanted eyes he possesses might emerge a speculation that he is Asian.

There is a cafe along the road. The board is written with MyLahore coloured in light blue and orange. That guy enters that place and the lovely aroma of cuisines, in which it seems to be dominated with Asian cooking. He detaches his hood and his blond and half gold locks are visible. His eyes are scanning the whole cafe but there is no more available table.

Mazui na~. Perhaps I should find somewhere else,” he mumbles under his breath. But before he can make another step, his eyes spot a brunette girl reading a book sitting by herself and there is an empty chair in front of her. That blonde quickly approaches her as his stomach won’t hesitate to make any more noises.

Sumimasen, are you sitting alone?” he asks her with an evident Japanese accent.

The brunette looks up from her book and blinks several times. “Ah yes. Do you need some help?”

“May I sit with you? I didn’t seem to find any available tables,” he asks her politely. The girl nods without hesitation. “Oh, of course!”

The blonde chuckles contently and immediately take a seat. “Thank you so much. I hope I don’t disturb your reading.” His Japanese tongue sounds so funny in her ears.

“Of course not. It’s just a light novel,” she says whilst sipping her tea. There is no food serve in her table.

“I’m Jin Kazama by the way. Nice to meet you,” he smiles and extend his hand to shake hers.

“I’m Sarah Fletcher. Where are you from, Jin?”

“Japan. I’m-here-for a…triaru (trial) at Manchester United,” he answers with a very slow intonation. A waiter approaches him to give him a menu list. He orders a hot green tea, katsu roll sushi, and a bowl of char siu ramen. The cold striking his body no more can be tolerated.

“Aaahh I see. So a talent spotted, isn’t it? I think it’s very nice to have an international young player. And you haven’t reached your 20s I presume?”

“No no, it’s nothing. Haha. And yes I’m still 19. I graduated from high school last year,” he affirms while receiving his green tea from the waiter.

“Really? You’re the same age as me!”

Hontou? I mean, you are? And what do you do every day?”

“Definitely. I study Linguistics and Sociology in University of Manchester. It’s not far from here. You should take a look at its Sport Science Department. They have lovely facilities,” Sarah babbles with a cheery tone. The slurp escapes from Jin’s mouth as he’s drinking his green tea.

Ume da yo. I miss this taste of tea so much.” He repeats the sound of slurp.

“Errr…Jin, I’m sorry but…could you not produce that sound? It’s kinda unusual here,” Sarah remarks and her face shows some sort of disgust.

He’s surprised with her comment. “Eh? I’m sorry, my bad. It’s just Japanese culture to oblige a guest to make a sound whilst eating noodles or drinking tea. I apologise if it’s bothering you,” Jin’s voice still sounds so sweet in her ears though.

“Ah now I understand! And you’re still a newbie here I think it can still be tolerated.”

Jin notices a beautiful glint in her hazel blue eyes which weirdly stirs his heart. Since he came to UK, his flirtatious behaviour which often troubles him from looking at somebody’s big tits for too long (plus he’s a foreign weirdo) never causes his sweet kokoro to feel this way. Their conversation continues to the extent how Jin got that strangely natural blond hair and how his new life so far in the UK.

And it’s finally time for Sarah to leave. “It’s so nice talking with you, Jin. I’m sorry I’ve got something else to do after this. I hope you enjoy your time here.”

“Me too! Thank you for your time today.”

“My pleasure!”

She sends him a goodbye and walks off. The smile she gave him before leaving leaves slight warmth in him. His eyes follow her till she’s out of his sight.

When he is about to finish his last drop of ramen, a small realisation hits him. “Wait. How come I didn’t check her tits?” He questions himself inwardly.

To be continued….

Published by lalathorpe39

Bachelor of linguistics who is awarded with Cum Laude predicate from writing a thesis based on her silly obsession over footballers. See? Being a fangirl could be so beneficial in college! XD

Leave a comment