Twenty Things about Lala Thorpe’s Writing

Whoop whoop! I got tagged by my fellow writer and fangirl Renohime. Thanks, Na. Since it’s a blog where I post everything in English, so let’s just write in English.

Let’s begin!

  1. Your real name?
  • I have a strong and long Javanese name. But I’m called with my second name, Mala. Sometimes people also address me with Pram, picked from the first syllable of my first name.

 

  1. Your current pen-name? When do you start using your current pen-name?
  • Lala J. Thorpe or just Lala Thorpe. I started using it in early 2012.

 

 

  1. Story behind your pen-name?
  • I began to fangirl over Tom Thorpe, a former captain of Manchester United U21, in late 2011. So I just picked his last name and simplified Mala with Lala because it sounded more international. LOL XD

 

 

  1. Where to find you?

 

 

  1. Why do you write?
  • I have no specific reasons for that. I started writing everything that interested me since elementary school and now it just goes deeper.

 

 

  1. Where do you usually get inspiration for your writing?
  • From reading fictions, I think. From sport-related events. I might have caught some inspiration based on my own experience but I’m just too dull for that. >,<

 

 

  1. Genre you usually write?
  • I always have big interest in writing fictions. But now I have written a very long non-fiction story called “undergraduate thesis”. It’s more terrifying than horror stories alone. Trust me.

 

 

  1. Genre you usually read?
  • Romance/Drama
  • Tragedy
  • Humor
  • I don’t read various genres like Renohime does. That’s why my writings seem so blunt and boring. *sobs*

 

 

  1. Current interest in writing?
  • Academic writing

 

 

  1. Your typical favorite fictional character?
  • KAKASHI HATAKE!! For male fictional character. Dammit, Sensei. You’re just too damn sexy and captivating to be fictional. He represents so much my type of man. How could you  drag bunch of fangirls with your mask-covered face?!
  • Sakura Haruno for female fictional character because I saw myself in her. She has unusual strength for a girl (which is like me) and her feelings upon a particular guy did not change since they were kids.
  • I love how any fictional characters got strong characterisation from their creators because that’s what makes the stories are worth to read.

 

 

  1. Name your own favorite fiction(s) and the reason why?
  • Does Tom Thorpe, written in most of my fanfictions, include as fictional character? ._.

 

 

  1. It might sound narcistic, but what’s something special about your writing?
  • The continuation from one sentence to another, I think. Most of my readers said that every sentence could attract them to finish reading.
  • Good narration :”>

 

  1. Aspects you still feel lacking?
  • Plot
  • Dramatisation
  • Characterisation
  • I’m so weak of picking new genre. Up till now, I’m stuck at romance and drama only. I’ve tried writing detective-related story but until now, it stopped on first chapter. Bloody hell. 😦

 

 

  1. Biggest challenge you’ve ever encountered when writing something?
  • When I enrolled in writing competition several months ago. I had to brainstorm myself to pick good diction and organise sentences. Thank God, I was crowned as runner-up. Hehe.
  • I want someone to challenge me to write new genres!

 

 

  1. About your writing, what do you want to accomplish next?
  • Publishing my first novel regarding my love for football. Is that too much?

 

 

  1. What is something you usually avoid when writing?
  • Too lazy to continue writing where it could actually become a kick-ass story if it’s done!
  • Non-crucial hours to write like in the afternoon. But sometimes my idea comes unexpectedly so I just let it flow at any hours.

 

 

 

  1. What is something you really want to improve from your writing?
  • All my lacking aspects and I do want to frequently write everytime I discover something new, like how I used to be.

 

 

  1. Do you have other interest aside from writing? And reasons why?
  • I like to do sketching the faces of my idols. My two sketches of Tom Lawrence, a Welsh football player, were favorited by him on twitter about two years ago. Basically, I love learning new things and sketching is something new for me 😀

 

 

  1. If you have ability to master one skill in one night, what skill will you choose?
  • To be a professional badminton athlete where I should have been at present time. I gave up that dream ten years ago since it was slowly crushed with some reasons.

 

 

  1. Protips from you for whomever read this?
  • For those who have difficulties in writing or starting to write because you’re not a writer like us, try reading a lot regarding to what you want to write.
  • DON’T TRY TO DISTRACT YOURSELF WITH ANYTHING ELSE WHILST WRITING! IT WILL DAMAGE SOMETHING YOU’VE BEEN PLOTTING ON YOUR HEAD!

 

Let’s meet my fellow beautiful writers with their beautiful stories 😀

  1. Deina a.k.a Renohime who gladly has tagged me in this silly game LOL kidding XD
  2. Rifka M. Syifa. My best friend, my loyal reader. She used to write a lot but I don’t know why she stopped writing. Back to your quill and parchment, Sip!
  3. Retno Sulistia. Whohooo, she writes bunch of lovely non-fictions in her blog. Check them out!
  4. Fauzi Nandang. He loves to be a poet. He is gifted with exceptional ability to write poems.
  5. Septian Ardianto. He’s not a writer. He’s just a mediocre student. But he has begun to learn to write in good way since he was slowly assassinated with his thesis. He wrote to survive. XD

 

By the time, you finish writing this game on your own, tag me back so I can read your stories about how you write 😀

Gracias~

Published by lalathorpe39

Bachelor of linguistics who is awarded with Cum Laude predicate from writing a thesis based on her silly obsession over footballers. See? Being a fangirl could be so beneficial in college! XD

Leave a comment